IPA News Item

IPA Reveals Noms for 22nd Satellite™ Awards, Plus Robert Legato for Tesla Award & Greta Gerwig as Auteur Recipient

Los Angeles, CA – November 29, 2017 – The International Press Academy (IPA) today announced its nominations for the 22nd Annual Satellite™ Awards in Motion Pictures and Television, along with naming VFX luminary Robert Legato as the 2017 Tesla Award recipient and multi-talented writer/actor/director Greta Gerwig (“Lady Bird”) as this year’s Auteur honoree.

Christopher Nolan’s “Dunkirk” joins “The Shape of Water,” “Get Out,” “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri,” “Lady Bird,” “The Big Sick,” “I, Tonya,” “God’s Own Country,” “Call Me by Your Name,” and “Mudbound” in the category of Best Picture.

IPA’s TV nominees reflect the spectacular arc of storytelling on the small screen. From Jessica Lange and Susan Sarandon in FX’s “Feud” about Davis and Crawford, to HBO’s “Big Little Lies” to Hulu’s “Handmaid’s Tale” to “Rillington Place” from Sundance Now, these are a few picks.

Other notable awards include critically acclaimed Harry Dean Stanton-starrer “Lucky” as Best First Feature for character actor John Carroll Lynch, and the Humanitarian Award goes to “Wonder” director Stephen Chbosky. Netflix’s release “Mudbound” is this year’s honoree for the Ensemble Award: Motion Picture. BBC series “Poldark” has been tapped as Best Ensemble: Television.

The 2017 Tesla recipient Robert Legato follows John Toll. Legato is a three-time Academy Award winner whose deft atmospheric command of Visual Effects can be seen in movies as diverse as “The Jungle Book” to “Hugo,” as well as in iconic films such as “Titanic.”

All nominations can be found via the link below, but this year is marked by outstanding competition in the Best Actress category, with Frances McDormand, Sally Hawkins, Margot Robbie, and Diane Kruger, among others.

The IPA selects nominees from domestic and international submissions for 32 categories: 19 Motion Picture and 13 Television. Nominations are derived from advance screenings, film festivals worldwide (i.e.; BAFTA, Cannes, Sundance, Telluride, TIFF), as well as consideration screeners and/or sanctioned links as available by the deadline.

The IPA’s Mary Pickford Award and Games/Blu-ray & DVD nominees will be revealed on Jan. 9. The 22nd Annual Satellite™ Awards will be held on Feb. 10, 2018 in Los Angeles. More details and a full list of nominations can be found at www.pressacademy.com.