IPA News Item


Los Angeles/ November 28, 2016 – The International Press Academy (IPA) announces its nominations for the 21st Annual Satellite™ Awards and for the first time the IPA is awarding a separate independent film and major studio film as Best Picture. Each year, the IPA celebrates nominees from domestic and international submissions for 37 categories: 19 in Motion Pictures, 12 in Television, 2 in Blu-ray DVDs and 4 in Video Games.

Film critics and entertainment writers from throughout the world are members of the IPA, and its decisions are derived from domestic and international film festivals, guild screenings and press screenings.

This year’s nominees include diverse films such as Fences, La La Land, Moonlight, Manchester by the Sea and Hell and High Water. On the TV side, major nominees include The People v. O.J. Simpson and Game of Thrones.

The special achievement awards include; The Mary Pickford Award for Outstanding Artistic Contribution to the Entertainment Industry goes this year to Edward James Olmos, The Nikola Tesla Award for visionary achievements in filmmaking technology goes to John Toll, The Auteur Award for creative vision and unique artistry made on audiences and fellow artists alike goes to Tom Ford and the Humanitarian Award will be presented to actor/activist Sir Patrick Stewart. The Best First Feature Award goes to Russudan Glurjidze for House of Others.

The Best Ensemble for Motion Pictures goes to Hidden Figures and the Best Ensemble for Television goes to Outlander.


About the International Press Academy

The International Press Academy (IPA) is a global association of professional entertainment journalists representing a multitude of print, broadcast and digital media outlets. Fedora, The Federation of European and Mediterranean Film Critics, joined the IPA in 2011 extending the IPA’s membership of foreign and domestic correspondents, whose markets reach millions worldwide via print, television, radio and the Internet.

For photos, logos and the entire list of International Press Academy nominations, go to: www.pressacademy.com.